7th Heidelberg International Symposium on High-Energy Gamma-Ray Astronomy

Aula Magna (Facultat de Biologia, Universitat de Barcelona)

Aula Magna

Facultat de Biologia, Universitat de Barcelona

Avinguda Diagonal, 643 08028 Barcelona


The 7th Heidelberg International Symposium on High-Energy Gamma-Ray Astronomy (Gamma2020), will take place on July 06-10, 2020, in Barcelona, Spain.

The Gamma-Ray Symposium has been held since 1994 in Heidelberg, Germany (see the webpage of previous editions in 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012 and 2016). The 2020 edition will take place for the first time in Barcelona, Spain. It will closely follow the guidelines and structure of the previous Symposia, covering all major observational and theoretical aspects of the field with an emphasis on the high (GeV) and very high (TeV) energy intervals of the electromagnetic spectrum.

Scientific topics will range from the origin of galactic and extragalactic cosmic rays to the physics and astrophysics of compact objects and their relativistic outflows (Pulsars, Microquasars, Blazars, GRBs), PWNe, SNRs, Star Forming Regions, Giant molecular clouds and Interstellar Medium, as well as extragalactic non-thermal objects like Starburst Galaxies, Radio Galaxies and Galaxy Clusters. Cosmological issues related to Dark Matter, Intergalactic radiation and magnetic fields, and topics relevant to fundamental physics will also be addressed.

On behalf of LOC and SOC,
F. Aharonian, F. Rieger and J. M. Paredes


                                                                       (poster pdf)



Scientific Organising Committee

  • Felix Aharonian (DIAS / MPIK, chair)
  • Elena Amato (INAF - Osservatorio Astrofisico di Arcetri)
  • Xavier Barcons (ESO)
  • Valenti Bosch-Ramon (Universitat de Barcelona / ICCUB)
  • Andrei Bykov (Ioffe Institute)
  • Zhen Cao (IHEP & Tianfu Cosmic Ray Research Center)
  • Catherine Cesarsky (AIM, DAp, Université Paris Saclay)
  • Paolo Coppi (Yale University)
  • Emma De Ona Wilhelmi (ICE / DESY)
  • Jim Hinton(MPIK)
  • Werner Hofmann (MPIK)
  • Michael Kramer (MPIfR)
  • Martin Lemoine (IAP - CNRS / Sorbonne Université)
  • Josep Martí (Universidad de Jaén)
  • Manel Martínez (IFAE-BIST)
  • Reshmi Mukherjee (Barnard College, Columbia University)
  • Josep M. Paredes (Universitat de Barcelona/ICCUB, co-chair)
  • Elena Pian (INAF-OAS)
  • Elisa Resconi (Technische Universität München)
  • Gustavo Romero (IAR-CONICET/CICPBA)
  • Gavin Rowell (The University of Adelaide)
  • Samar Safi-Harb (University of Manitoba)
  • Eun-Suk Seo  (University of Maryland)
  • Ronald Shellard (CBPF)
  • Joe Silk (IAP/JHU)
  • Christian Stegman (DESY)
  • Marco Tavani (INAF)
  • Masahiro Teshima (ICRR, University of Tokyo / MPP)
  • Jacco Vink (Anton Pannekoek Institute, University of Amsterdam)            
  • Xiang-Yu Wang (Nanjing University)
  • Roberta Zanin  (CTA Observatory GmbH)

Local Organising Committee                

  • Pol Bordas 
  • Valentí Bosch-Ramon
  • Matteo Cerruti
  • Kazushi Iwasawa
  • Edgar Molina
  • Josep M. Paredes (chair)
  • Marc Ribó
  • Frank Rieger (co-chair)
  • Xiying Zhang



Gamma-2020 announcements
The agenda of this meeting is empty
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now